“The miracle of gratitude is that it shifts your perception to such an extent that it changes the world you see” – Dr. Robert Holden

album-gratitude

Written by Kelly Higgins

I received simple, yet life changing advice a few years ago from my counselor. She asked me to write down three things I was grateful for at the end of each day. This is my opportunity to spread her advice and share my personal experience as I feel like it could slowly change the world we live in, if each and every person practiced this simple exercise daily.

When life seems to be crashing down on you due to a bad day, a horrible month, or just a plain crappy year, how can you possibly say or write anything positive about the chain of events that are unfolding against you? We’ve all had times in our life where it seems like everything is going wrong making us blind to all the things that are actually perfectly right.

I forced myself to try this gratitude exercise and write down at least one thing that I was grateful for in each day. If I didn’t write it down, I said it to myself before I fell asleep at night. There were days where the only things I wrote or said was that I was grateful for taking a breath in the morning or having a pen and paper to be able to write. In my eyes, at the time, these were two pretty insignificant things I took for granted. Now I see that these are two amazing gifts that I am beyond grateful for every day! This daily practice will give you the ability to see how lucky you really are to have what you have and who you have in your life.

Looking back now, there were so many things I could have written down or said but I just couldn’t see them at the time. I chose to focus on the negative events and people in my life instead of the positive experiences and love that I was surrounded by every day. You have the choice to surround yourself with positive and loving people. You have the choice to let your mind and heart see and feel the good in each and every day of your life.

I began to see a change in my perception pretty shortly after starting this daily practice. My life is slowly transitioning from living a life where I felt like the world was against me to being grateful for the life I have.

Dr. Robert Holden, psychologist, writer and inspiration speaker states so remarkably, “The miracle of gratitude is that it shifts your perception to such an extent that it changes the world you see”. Be grateful for where you are right now in your life and all the love that surrounds you. Make sure to write or tell yourself what you are grateful for each and every day and see what changes you can bring to the world you see. ❤

Leave a Reply

