Yoga/Journaling Challenge – Body & Mind Opening

20140213-141450.jpg

I’ve been on lull for a bit which caused a break in my yoga practice and writing.  My schedule has been a bit crazy along with a training I just completed to be a volunteer facilitator for a grief support program for children and adults.  Although mostly good things happening in life, my yoga practice and writing has fallen to the way side this past month or so.

Listening to my body and it’s yearning for my yoga practice and my mind craving the passion the write, I’ve decided to create a new challenge for myself and for my followers if you would like to join me.

Challenges for me give me the motivation to get on the mat while keeping a promise to myself.  Along with this daily yoga challenge, I invite you to join me in journaling on what you experienced on your mat; emotionally and physically.  What did the practice bring up for that day or didn’t bring up?

My home practice lets me focus more on my breath and clearing my mind.  While, being in the studio is great for guidance and my teachers are wonderful, one of my challenges has always been to begin and keep a daily home practice.

I am using a free challenge I found online with a simple Google search.   http://www.doyouyoga.com/challenge/

Feel free to follow along with this website or create your own practice.  The videos are about 20-30 minutes long making it perfect to fit in your morning ritual! I will be using the challenge above as the focus for the journaling each day but by no means do have to follow along.  I will provide what the focus was on that day followed by a quote or saying to inspire your journaling.

On to today’s practice J  Hip openers.  After being off my mat for a bit, these were a little tough for me but it opened up more than just my hips.  It opened up blocks and tightness my entire body has been feeling; emotionally and physically.

Opening up our bodies to the discomfort can give us room to see what needs improvement and what we need to work on to give our muscles the room they need to breathe.  It can open our minds to what has been holding us back and how to move forward.

I’ll leave you with a quote by Pema Chödrön to inspire your journaling for today:

“When you open yourself to the continually changing, impermanent, dynamic nature of your own being and of reality, you increase your capacity to love and care about other people and your capacity to not be afraid.”

Leave a Reply

